The Rt. Rev. Dr. Eric Vawter Menees, formerly rector of Church of the Resurrection, San Marcos, California, became the 5th bishop of San Joaquin in 2011.  Bishop Menees was elected by the clergy and delegates of the Anglican Diocese of San Joaquin on May 14, 2011 and consecrated as Bishop Coadjutor on September 24th by Archbishop Robert Duncan and bishops John-David Schofield, William Thompson, Bill Atwood, and William Murdoch.  He was later installed as Bishop at Saint James Cathedral on October 22, 2011.

In the Anglican Church, a diocese is a collection of congregations under the authority of a bishop within a certain geographical area.  The diocese is the fundamental unit of structure of the Anglican Church.  Every diocese is the seat of a bishop.  In general, a diocese contains many parishes and churches, and normally dioceses are combined into larger administrative units called Provinces and National Churches.  St. John's is part of the Diocese of San Joaquin.  It's headquarters are in Fresno, CA.   The Archbishop of the Anglican Church in North America (ACNA) is Rev. Dr. Foley Beach.